Braşov

Saturday 20 August, 2011

Arrived in Braşov after 3 hour train ride from Bucharest. After boasting about my success at finding my digs so easily in Bucharest, I have to admit I didn’t do so well here. I took well over an hour to find any street that was on my guidebook map. I actually think I did almost a full circle walk around the outskirts of the town before finally heading into the Old Town centre. At least it was in the middle of the day, not late at night. But of course, that meant it was quite warm. Never mind, here I am at “Jugendstube Hostel”. I don’t know what’s with the German name. But it is in “Michael Weiss Street”. And Braşov is in the centre of old Saxon lands. It used to be called Kronstadt. My first walk around confirms that Braşov is a very pretty town, especially around the lovely main square, Piaţa Sfatului.

About middleeuropeanmelancholy

64 year old Australian born male. Into travel, poetry, philosophy, music, popular physics, mathematics (especially topology)...
This entry was posted in Romania. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

