Gjirokastra

22-23 July, 2011

Gjirokastra, city of a thousand steps.

You knew there would be a castle on a hill, right…This one is particularly spooky. Parts were used as a prison in Ottoman times, and by the Nazis and Communists. The Hanged Women sculpture depicts two local victims of the Nazis. The aircraft shell was a trainer jet that got into difficulties and landed near here in 1957. The pilot was returned to USA but the plane was kept as a Cold War trophy. The Cold War Tunnel was a large underground complex of tunnels and rooms designed to serve as a refuge for the Communist leadership. I peeked inside, past the rubbish strewn just inside the door. It was dark, so I used my torch and proceeded down the corridor and for a couple more turns. I pocketed the padlock on the door first, in case someone came and locked up. But they might have had a spare, so I did not stick around to explore. The last breakfast pic shows a pot of mulberry tea. The guy in the family pic had invited me to have a shot of his home made raki as I walked past his house in the old bazaar area.

        

About middleeuropeanmelancholy

64 year old Australian born male. Into travel, poetry, philosophy, music, popular physics, mathematics (especially topology)...
This entry was posted in Albania. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gjirokastra

  1. Andy Jackson says:

    Incredibly beautiful looking town – it’s very different, but it reminds me of the epiphany I had in Darjeeling – I used to prefer coast to mountains, but towns like these… 🙂

Leave a Reply

