Vardaria

It is the name of a country, not a town, but you won’t find it on any map.

I see that South Sudan just replaced Kosovo as the newest country to be recogised by the UN. Which leads me to think about the name of the country I am in now. I mentioned the controversy in a previous post, including the fact that the bare “Macedonia” name is unacceptable to Greece. By the way, in the museum in Skopje I learned that of the historic area of “Macedonia”, 50.3% belongs now to Greece, 9.9% to Bulgaria, 1.2% to Albania and the remaining 38.6% to the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia (FYROM).

I have come up with a brilliant idea to solve the Macedonia name problem. Two-thirds of FYROM consists of the Vardar River basin. Why not Vardaria for the nation’s name? Its citizens could be proud Vardarians who speak fluent Vardarian! This idea may or may not win me the Nobel Peace Prize. I will just have to be patient and wait and see.

Update: Locals I have spoken to have had an unexpectedly lukewarm, and to my way of thinking, irrational, reaction to my proposal. They seem to have an inordinate fondness for the name Macedonia that I don’t understand. As an English pen-twiddler once wrote, “What’s in a name?”. I could not care less if Australia was renamed Oz, Oceania, or Octopusland. It seems that Macedonians feel they would be giving up something for nothing in return. But the prospect of good neighbourly relations with Greece is not nothing, is it? Oh well. Maybe they think “Vardaria” sounds too much like it has something to do with Darth Vader.

About middleeuropeanmelancholy

64 year old Australian born male. Into travel, poetry, philosophy, music, popular physics, mathematics (especially topology)...
This entry was posted in Macedonia, Politics, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Vardaria

  1. Andy Jackson says:

    This is a brilliant idea, Norman. We could even rotate country names – that way, there’s no chance to accumulate an attachment to the name. This week, Australia; next week, Vardaria; the week after, Octopusland.
    Or, instead of names, nations could have numbers. “Oh, I come from 24, where are you from?….”.
    Just a thought…. 😉

  2. Thanks for the props, Andy. After many rebuffs, I finally met a young Vardarian guy whol liked my idea. Now with two supporters world-wide (one Vardarian, one not) I think my campaign is beginning to snowball…

Leave a Reply

