Lecce

21-23 May, 2011

I got to Lecce by train from Alberobello via Martina Franca. My B&B is great (actually a huge apartment with no-one else staying there at the moment). Very close to the main piazza, Piazza Sant’Oronzo. I am looking forward to meeting my friend Chris who will be here with her sister Tuesday and Wednesday. WiFi problems at the B&B, so Internet cafe again…Pics will have to wait I am afraid, and there will be plenty – Lecce is the motherlode for baroque (and please remember, “if it ain’t baroque, don’t fix it!”) architecture.

Update:  I am a technical genius. I fixed the WiFi problem myself. There really was a problem. When I texted Flavio, the owner of the apartment, to tell him. He texted back: “The password I gave you is correct. Please control your typing!”. Grrr. Anyway, I switched the router off and back on again and bingo!. It was a little tricky though since the router was high up near the ceiling. I had to drag a small table over to stand on to reach it. All’s well that ends well. Now I can upload some pics. Hope you like baroque architecture.

Piazza Sant’Oronzo, with the copperplate statue of Lecce’s patron saint on a column originally from the Appian Way, the former Town Hall Building, little St. Mark’s church and a 2nd c. Roman Amphitheatre:

           

From Piazza Sant’Oronzo it’s a short walk along the Corso Vittorio Emanuele to Piazza Duomo and the cathedral with the highest bell-tower in Italy:

              

Saving the best until last, the fantastic, over-the-top Basilica di Santa Croce:

                    

In Lecce, like most cities in Italy I’ve been to (except the biggest ones), the place is quiet during the middle of the day, many shops closing for a good part of the afternoon. But it comes alive in the evening, starting with the passegiata walking procession in and between the main piazzas.

About middleeuropeanmelancholy

64 year old Australian born male. Into travel, poetry, philosophy, music, popular physics, mathematics (especially topology)...
This entry was posted in Italy. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

